Cold sores (Herpes Simplex)

I had a spouse who had a lifelong problem with cold sores. His father had the same problem, which was where his originated from. I have never had any cold sores myself but I was able to eliminate my spouse’s problem. I noticed he was constantly touching his upper lip feeling for the onset of a cold sore. I’ve seen similar behavior with someone who has acne. It occurred to me that my spouse was transferring bacteria, oils and contaminants to his face by constantly touching and handling his upper lip. So I brought this behavior to his attention. He was completely unaware of this habit. He was doing it subconsciously his entire life without realizing it.

So, I had him frequently washing his hands, keeping his nails scrubbed and using sanitizing hand cleaners when he was away from the house. I also had him clean the area on his face with alcohol twice a day. Morning and bedtime. He also made a conscious effort to stop handling his face. It was also important to clean the area with an alcohol pad after sweating and to use clean tissues to blow his nose and never use handkerchiefs. It worked. For all the years we were married until his death, he never had another cold sore. Prior to that, he told me he had been plagued with them at least 2 or 3 times or more times each year for decades since he was a child.

Never use handkerchiefs or reuse any tissues. Nothing with bacteria should come in contact with your face. Keep fresh tissues and sealed alcohol pads and hand cleansers in your vehicle, purse, pockets, briefcase, workbench, home, etc. Clean your hands whenever you handle money or go to the store. Avoid shaking hands with other people as well. You never know what their hands have touched.

I’m not a doctor so I can only tell you what works for me and my family. But I thought I would pass along these suggestions because they worked quite well. As an engineer and research scientist, I notice things that other people do not. I am especially proficient with pattern recognition which often helps in analyzing the possible cause of a problem. 

I have also heard from other people I have known that certain zinc compounds and stress formulas have been effective in reducing their incidence of cold sores. I don’t know the exact details because I have never had a cold sore. But I’m hoping this info will be useful to others. Handling your face can also be a similar cause of acne. I will create an article for Acne as well which will have additional info for that condition.

If a cold sore does occur, it should be kept clean with alcohol and an appropriate antibacterial topical. Also utilize any zinc compound supplements or other cold sore treatments which are effective. I don’t have any experience in treating them after they occur. Only in preventing them. Vitamin C supplements are very good for healing and colds. 2000 mg twice a day. Vitamin E and aloe vera are also very good on healing. But don’t take vitamin E internally. It can cause clotting of blood. So only use it externally.

As always, if you have a serious medical condition, seek medical care from a qualified, medical professional or hospital.

Leave a Reply

